The Best You Can with What You Have

First, a quick apology: I missed posting the last couple days because I was in Pittsburgh competing at the USAW Pittsburgh Open.

Fortunately, I’m a novice and it was my first meet, so as long as I didn’t fall off the platform or faint from nerves, I could count it a small victory. And fortunately (again), I managed to stay on the platform and remain conscious, so it was a small victory.

Really, I just did the best I could with what I had: a borrowed singlet, a couple of fantastic and patient coaches, a few really amazing supportive friends, and a small small small amount of experience with Olympic lifting.

When you’re trying to eat clean, sometimes you just have to do the best you can with what you have. When I got home today, I wanted to get back on the clean wagon… because spending a weekend with good friends in a far away town usually means a beer or two is involved. Anyway. I had been out of the house for two days. There really wasn’t much in the way of food in the house. But I managed; I did the best I could with what I had, and it actually turned out to be better than I thought it would be. avocadobacon It’s one avocado, chunked and sprinkled with garlic powder and topped with 3 slices of reheated, crumbled bacon.

Sometimes doing the best you can with what you have is actually. freaking. awesome.

Leave a Reply

